A beautiful 19th century mansion nestled in the heart of Somerset's cider country, Cricket St Thomas stands out for glorious mature trees and shrubs on its 46 acres of Grade II listed lakes and gardens, the 12th century St Thomas Parish Church and centuries of noble, famous and diverse property. The scene for much of the famous television comedy To The Manor Born, Cricket St. Thomas was also frequently visited by Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton. This classic farmhouse is located in a splendid park, with colourful gardens, lakes and a unique wooded area.
The hotel offers extensive entertainment, including nightly live performances and great food. Cricket St Thomas is a quiet village in the heart of Somerset, a short distance from Chard and Crewkerne. Its name comes from the Cricket family, who owned the vast estate in the 12th century. Cricket House, located on the hillside of the estate, overlooks Lake Tiddlers, which runs through the grounds.
The remains of the village of Cricket St Thomas were removed in late C18 or early C19, and most of the parish was closed to form the park as the setting for the new mansion. The parish church in the gardens of the cricket house now employs its own chaplain to serve the 450 guests and 262 employees who work on the farm. After months of hard work, Noel Edmonds officially opened Crinkley Bottom at Cricket St Thomas on the weekend of July 2-3, 1994.
Cricket St Thomas is a parish in Somerset, England, located in a valley between Chard and Crewkerne within the administrative district of South Somerset. MAIN BUILDING Cricket House (Grade II listed) is located on an artificially level terrace overlooking the dam stream, towards the center of the site. A narrow belt of bushes extends northeast to the church of St.
Thomas (listed as grade II*), which is accessed from the car parks along a path bordered by cypress avenue. The Cricket St Thomas estate, originally a manor, included most of the north of Winsham parish and for generations many people from Winsham have lived and worked on the estate. The mansion later passed to the De Cricket family and then, around 1328, was acquired by Sir Walter de Rodney, ancestor of Admiral Lord Rodney.
Cricket House and Wild Life Park were sold to Warner Holidays in 1998 after the family managed them for nearly 30 years. , the main entrance to Cricket House is from the A30 to the northwest, at a point known as White Down. However, at the end of 1993, Noel Edmonds' 'House Party' program was one of the most important television programs in the country, and at that time Edmonds lived near Cricket in Devon. Lord Bridport commissioned Sir John Soane (1753-183) to remodel Cricket House in 1786, and the same architect made further modifications in 1801-07; it is not clear if Soane altered an existing house that had its origins in early C14, or if its building was completely new.